Benny Gettinger: Photo-Graphic Artist

Business Travel

I’ve been doing a bit of traveling lately with work. Although I don’t like being away from my wife, I do get excited about seeing parts of the country that I’m not familliar with. No matter what the shoot is for, I can usually sneak away to take a few fun photos just for myself.

We have a division in Alliance, Nebraska. Now you may think you’ve been to the middle of nowhere before, but until you’ve been to Alliance – you haven’t. I was born in Nebraska, and I have family in Nebraska, so I thought I knew what it would be like. But the “panhandle” is worse than Kansas. Anyway, Alliance has a world-famous tourist attraction: Carhenge. It looks just like Stonehenge but, you guessed it, built with cars. I thought it would be a fun spot for an HDR, and I was lucky enough to happen upon it near sunset (just after actually, but it worked out thanks to Lightroom 3’s noise reduction).

Carhenge

"Carhenge" in Alliance, NE (2-exposure HDR)

More recently, work sent me to Clarksville, TN where we have a big railroad construction job going on. We built a bridge across a creek there, and I was trying to take photos of it. I saw that nearby there were tall stacks of bundled up railroad ties. They were in the perfect spot for me to get some good elevation, and look down on the roadbed we had put across the bridge. So I climed up these tar-covered planks (further ruining my jeans) to get a good shot. It was a great shot of the bridge, but when I was up there I found the ties to be much more interesting. The blackened wood and harsh shadows prompted me to take this as a 3-exposure HDR.

Railroad Ties
Obviously I modified in Photoshop, but after climbing up there that’s how it felt!

 

Leave a Reply

