Benny Gettinger: Photo-Graphic Artist

Color Drop

I’m probably the last young photographer to do this, but I’ve always wanted to do one of those cool ink color drops in water photos. Well today I actually got up the gumption to do such a shot, and it turned out pretty cool!

Blue food coloring dropped into water, then flipped in post.

After I dropped the coloring into the water, I took several photos as the dye sank down and melted into the clear water (to get several formation options).  When I loaded the photos into Lightroom Beta 3v2 it occurred to me that with this new version, I can export a time lapse video.  It’s short, but super neat-o and a good start to perhaps more like this in the future.

One response

  1. Awesome shot. I’ve been doing some color drops too. For different reason but yours really looks great.
    http://martinsoler.com/2010/06/20/water-drop-photography/

    June 20, 2010 at 6:05 pm

Leave a Reply

