Benny Gettinger: Photo-Graphic Artist

Barney the Betta

For Christmas this year my sister gave me a betta fish! I decided to spread joy and cheer by bringing him to work. Of course, the first order of business was finding a name for the little guy, because you can’t have a fish at work without a name. Well I figured it would be best to have a name to begin with the letter “B” since it flows off the tongue so well. We threw around a few candidates like Buster, Buddy, Barnibus and Beelzebub, but we finally settled on Barney.  There’s a little aquatic plant in the bowl with him to provide a decent habitat. My favorite question has been, “Is there a fish in there?” I usually respond with, “No, it’s an aquatic plant.” I must not be spreading the sarcasm on thick enough because surprisingly some people respond with a simple, “oh” and move on. But c’mon people! It’s a FISH BOWL!

They tell me his bowl needs to be cleaned, but I’ve done that once already!

Barney the Betta

He loves to hide in the boughs of his aquatic plant.

2 responses

  1. Meg

    Maybe they think you’re just weird enough to bring a bowl of plant in water to work. Glad to hear you’re spreading cheer!

    February 25, 2010 at 1:17 pm

  2. UPDATE: I was able to avoid cleaning the bowl long enough that my boss cleaned it for me… SUCKA!

    February 25, 2010 at 3:42 pm

Leave a Reply

